The Importance of Revisiting a Stuffed Animal or Doll. #dolltherapy. Gallery preview

Comment 1 Standard

For me, a favorite stuffed animal or doll is a way to meditate on my own childhood, on my children’s childhood, someone else’s childhood in a vintage find.  It is a way to revel in memories that flood the heart with sentimentality- memories of a distant past.  Just touching it, dusting it, enjoying the craftsmanship is a means to grieve, to laugh.  Something to nurture, to marvel at.

Yes, I am that kooky lady with a house full of stuffed animals (and more in storage).  But they each mean so much to me and my kids and they would be lost in a thrift store, turned away for fear of bugs and TB.  So they stay with me (and in storage).

I may start sharing my vast collection here over time.  Some are new, some very old, some mine, some my kids, some from vintage finds.

Gallery preview:

            

On a different note (or is it?), the following is fascinating and creepy.  Oh dear.

Bizarre (it’s too strange, even for me):

One thought on “The Importance of Revisiting a Stuffed Animal or Doll. #dolltherapy. Gallery preview

  1. Pingback: The Importance of Revisiting a Stuffed Animal or Doll: gallery continued. #dolltherapy « POST STREET: self-expression through the sock

Leave a Reply

