BIRTHDAY CRAFT- “quite messy dark blue-green cat”! Karen MacDonald, Nameless Wonders

Comments 2 Standard

I ordered the cutest little thing on ETSY and it arrived in time for my birthday!  PAINFULLY CUTE!  I’m in LOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE!

Now at home in North Vancouver, BC, Canada!

Karen MacDonald, Nameless Wonders

“Inspired by Japanese soft toys made from remnants of kimono fabrics, these are soft-sculptural and toy-like animals, mostly of hand-sewn fabrics, sometimes with incorporated found and recycled materials such as plastics and wires. They are sometimes part painted or covered in plaster, or contain knitted elements.  Each animal is made spontaneously, often starting with a limb or ear, and is freely cut, stitched, stuffed and added to until the form is complete. The final form is never known until the last stitch is tied off. They are based on ideas of animals and their relationship to their environment and to people – I am interested in what would happen if the animals got revenge or took on a more human role, as well as in animals in general. I am also inspired by museum collections and am currently working on recreating objects on that theme. I also make cheerful, colourful, off-the-wall animals to cover mobile phones and music players, as well as cat and rabbit brooches. Originally a ceramics maker, I was drawn to working in textiles and mixed media for the flexibility and variety of these materials and their potential to enable rapid completion of an idea, which is essential to the way I work.” (source)

NAMELESS WONDERS ON FACEBOOK:

I just love this artist!!!!!!!

I JUST BOUGHT THIS PENGUIN!  BECAUSE I LOVE IT AND NEED IT!  AND DESERVE IT!

2 thoughts on “BIRTHDAY CRAFT- “quite messy dark blue-green cat”! Karen MacDonald, Nameless Wonders

  1. Pingback: Crafts I love: “The Pigeon” by the genius, Karen MacDonald, Nameless Wonders #myhero « POST STREET: self-expression through the sock

  2. Pingback: Crafts I love: my penguin arrived from Glasgow, Scotland! Welcome home! #namelesswonders « POST STREET: self-expression through the sock

Leave a Reply

