Kat’s Read-Do Book Review #5: “The Guerilla Art Kit” #streetart #sockart #graffiti

Comments 2 Standard

TODAY’S BOOK that I read-do review is the delightful and inspiring:

The Guerilla Art Kit– everything you need to put your message out into the world (for fun non-profit and world domination) by Keri Smith (2007) Princeton Architectural Press, New York

The Guerilla Art Kit shows how small artistic acts can start a revolution. Keri Smith, noted author of Living Out Loud and the blog Wish Jar Journal, uses her unique drawing and handwriting style to help anyone find and release their inner artist or activist. This visually exciting activity book–full of step-by-step exercises, cutout projects, sticker ideas, and more–has both fun assignments and handy tips to help you unleash your creative energy into the streets, where you can really make an impact. From the quick exercises–leaving books for strangers to find, chalking quotes on the sidewalk–to the more involved–making a “wish tree,” guerilla gardening, or making your own stencils–The Guerilla Art Kit contains everything you need to put your message out into the world. (SOURCE) See preview

My review is simple.  I go back to my street art using sock graffiti.  Back in January 201o, I wrote: I often see abandoned socks on my dog walks.  In pairs or alone.  Under a bush, in the gutter, in the trees.  I wonder if they were dropped on purpose, fell out of someones bag, or if they are leftovers from a crazy night or even a crime scene.  They are sad, pathetic.  I finally made a sock bird today out of a stray sock that I found back in March 2010.  The sock bird was made during my art therapy and contains the laughter, tears, pain, trust, joy, and dialogues of my students.  I dedicate this post to them.

March 15, 2010: Stray sock found at 3rd and Chesterfield south of the Anne MacDonald Studio, North Vancouver BC.

Boiled, washed, dried!

I love how the sock design on this tattered old sock became markings on this sock corvid!

Anne MacDonald Studio, 3rd and Chesterfield, North Vancouver BC. Feb 1, 2011 8:30 PM

Keri Smith writes: The stereotype of the guerilla artist is someone who makes extremist work and who is constantly on the run from the law.  For the purpose of this book I would like to expand the concept and define guerilla art as anonymous work (including but not limited to graffiti, signage, performance, additions, and decoration) installed, performed, or attached in public spaces, with the distinct purpose of affecting the world in a creative or thought-provoking way. (page 11)

Love, Katarina

UPDATE FEB 5, 2011:

A little soggy but still there!

2 thoughts on “Kat’s Read-Do Book Review #5: “The Guerilla Art Kit” #streetart #sockart #graffiti

Leave a comment