Craft Book Quote of the Day from ‘Patchwork Folk Art’ #applique #quilting

Comments 2 Standard

Throughout childhood I enjoyed making things, drawing and painting, collecting and arranging objects.  As children, each autumn we collected seeds and berries to make specimen boxes, each item being arranged and labeled in box lids.  It became a favorite activity, and I spent many hours ordering my collection until I was happy with its appearance.  The memory of this childhood enjoyment is one of the reasons I believe that today I prefer to work with fabric rather than paint.  Manipulating fabric allows me the same freedom of lifting, replacing and reorganizing. (from Introduction)

I adore Janet Bolton‘s work, which is deceivingly simple and primitive.  I bought this book way back from Dick and Jane (then in Kitsilano, now in West Vancouver) .  I was moved by the crooked lines, the traditional craft, the hand-sewn images, the daring lines . Her work since inspired me to come up with the sentence that I use to describe my sock art: “The visible stitch is the mark of the artist.”

 

2 thoughts on “Craft Book Quote of the Day from ‘Patchwork Folk Art’ #applique #quilting

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Craft Book Quote of the Day from ‘Patchwork Folk Art’ #applique #quilting « POST STREET: self-expression through the sock -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

