Kat’s Read-Do Book Review #1: “Sew Me, Love Me” #crafts #inspiration

Comments 3 Standard

INTRODUCING MY NEW READ-DO BOOK REVIEW, the idea being I review a book I love by making something after ingesting the book’s contents!  (Oh dear, does that sound wrong?)  Let’s see where inspiration takes me today!

READ-DO BOOK REVIEW #1:

Sew Me, Love Me- Best Stuffed Animals to Make Kuei, Hsiu-Lan (2010) Interweave Press: Loveland, CO


• READ

I came across this charming book at Michaels this past year and ended up buying two copies- one for home and the other for my art therapy room.  The photographs are exquisite and the text simple, happy and user-friendly.  The instructions are easy though I usually change it up by using socks with my students, as opposed to sewing with cloth pieces as in the book.  The characters melt your heart (I think my favorite is the long-legged fox).  You can see a preview of the book at: PREVIEW: SEW ME, LOVE ME

About the author:

Hsiu-Lan Kuei has spent much of her professional career as both a costume designer, and an illustrator. She made her first doll from an old stray sock and primarily uses fabric scraps and recycled fabric cloth for her doll creations. Hsiu-Lan Kuei is currently working on characters and costumes for a Taiwan stage adaptation of famous fairy tales. She lives in Taiwan. (Source: Interweave)

The book is divided into three parts:

Part 1: HOW TO MAKE FRIENDS: DOLL MAKING WITH RECYCLED MATERIALS

Part 2: THE PROJECTS: DOLLS YOU CAN MAKE BY HAND

Appendix: MORE TIPS, TECHNIQUES & PATTERNS

I love simply looking at the book, as visually it truly INSPIRES me.  It also gives you great tips on sewing techniques and supplies.  I ADORE THIS BOOK!

• DO

I let the book infuse me and I then ended up sketching my own ideas…

… and creating a doll using some favorite socks (Ozone Rugby Socks) that I purchased at Sockshop on Haight (October 2010).  The dress is off the leg of a new pair of PJ pants that were too big and the eyes are handmade ceramic buttons bought at the Knit & Stitch Shoppe.

The result is a sock cat and sock bird inspired by the book, by folk art and by Danish Nisse Dolls.

* This sock cat/sock bird duo is available at my ETSY store!

3 thoughts on “Kat’s Read-Do Book Review #1: “Sew Me, Love Me” #crafts #inspiration

  1. Pingback: Photoshoot, sock creations by H, J and J including the edgiest sock monkey ever! « POST STREET: self-expression through the sock

  2. Pingback: Check out the new adventures of my long-limbed Sock Cat and her buddy Sock Crow! « POST STREET: self-expression through the sock

Leave a Reply

