Crafts I love: my Swedish grandmother’s wooden lunch box, 1910

Leave a comment Standard

I treasure this little piece of family history.  My grandmother’s uncle made her this beautiful lunch box in 1910 either in Hudiksvall or Sigtuna, Sweden.  It was given to me when I was living in Sweden as a young child and I have used it ever since to contain treasures and trinkets.  It now contains the last remnants of my daughter‘s baby blanket, the infamous “tutta.”  The design is genius, a simple snap and lock lid.

As a comparison, a similar piece of Swedish folk art can be found at: Large Antique Lunch Box, Sweden

Leave a Reply

